top of page
Darlene Briggs
Marine Woman of the Year Award

Darlene Briggs Marine Woman of the Year 1.jpg

Michele Goldsmith
Vice President & General Manager

Soundings Trade Only

2023 Darlene Briggs Marine Woman of the Year


DBMWYA - no name.png

Presented annually to an outstanding woman who is actively involved in the marine industry at any level. It recognizes long and devoted service, untiring commitment, and the advancement of women in the marine business.


The late Darlene Briggs of Wayzata, MN, was admired for her tireless dedication to the marine industry. The MRAA and Boating Industry magazine together present the Darlene Briggs Woman of the Year Award to honor her memory.

Anchor 1
Nikki with Award.jpg
Nikki, Jeff and Jim.jpg

2022 Darlene Briggs Marine Woman of the Year - Nikki Storey

The 36th Darlene Briggs Marine Woman of the Year was revealed on Wedneday December 7th at MRAA Awards Ceremony as part of Dealer Week.  The 42-year old President of the Great Lakes Boat Building School was selected from a field of nineteen qualified and amazing industry women.  Congratulations Nikki and to all nominees! 

2023 Nominations Now Open

Darlene Briggs
Marine Women
of the

2021  Roxanne Rockvam - Rockvam Boatyards

2020 Kristen Frohnhoefer - Sea Tow

2019  Sara Anghel  - NMMA Canada

2018  Angela Pilkington - Correct Craft

2017  Wanda Kenton Smith - Freedom Boat Club

2016  Susan Bonivich - Volvo Penta of the Americas, Inc

2015  Melissa Danko - NJ Marine Trades Association

2014  Margaret Podlich - Boat US

2013  Rallee Chupich - Gordy's Lakefront Marine

2012  Debbie Meigs - Cobalt Boats

2011  Julie Crowe - Crowe Marine

2010  Barbara Woodard - Woodard Marine

2009  Nancy Smith - Colorado Boat Center

2008  Ann Baldree - Chaparral Boats

2007  Marcia Kull - Volvo Penta

2006  Debbie Davis - Waypoint Group

2005  Carol Ricketts - Albermarle Boats

2004  Dawn Johnson - Bombardier (BRP)

2003  Joan Maxwell - Regulator Boats

2002  Kris Carroll - Grady White Boats

2001  Lynn Fiorenazno - Silver Spring Marine

2000  Kim Bors - Chris Craft

1999  Maureen Dickson - Cap Sante Marine

1998  Susan Everhard - Florida Yacht Charters & Sales

1997  Elizabeth Carney - Lake Fenton Marine

1996  Laura Martin - Jerry Martin & Associates

1995  Suzanne Sloan - Anchorage Marina

1994  Phylis Kollar - Kentucky Dam Marina

1993  Charlotte White - White's Marine Centers

1992  Helen Lewis - Jerry's Marine

1991  Olive Browning - Browning's Marine

1990  Betty Gripentog - Las Vegas Boat Harbor

1989  Elizabeth Ferris - Volvo Penta of America

1988  Betty Trexler - Trexler's Marina

1987  Bonnie Todtenhagen - Parker Boat Company

The Darlene Briggs Marine Woman of the Year Award
Is proudly sponsored by

Boat Industry ppng.png
bottom of page